Rape viewed objectively.

I don’t normally write about some kind of blanket topic. This is new for me.

I also don’t pretend to know anything substantial about the topic of rape. So this will be short.

Now I’ve never been raped. I’m a guy. I’d imagine it’s quite a rare occurrence to be raped as a guy – again, I don’t know; however, through my recent binge watching of horror movies, which turned out to be less pointless than I thought, I’ve derived some kind of opinion on it that I hope a guy can take away from this.

I dunno about you, but as a guy, I have never felt fearful for my life or being raped walking to a train late at night, or leaving a club by myself, or going to the shops by myself late at night. It’s not in the back of any guys mind that we are going to be raped. I sound fucking stupid even saying that. That’s how out of touch I am, and maybe you are, of how a girl/woman must actually feel. The general consensus of females would be that they are more sensitive than us. Would you agree? So I can’t imagine what it would feel like to have this thing, that we as guys don’t even think about, constantly in the back of my head as I hop of the train at night. It’s kind of unfathomable.

The other thing is joking about it. I use to joke about it all the time, and honestly I’ll probably slip and do it again – around the right people that is. In saying that though; If you’re joking about it without a conscience, perhaps think about you’re future daughter being raped by a group of strangers, see if you still find it funny. Or your son you’ve raised with what you thought were a pretty decent set of morals, raping that somebody else’s daughter. Perhaps your wife got raped on the way home from work. Still funny?

I don’t know what my point is exactly. Just put yourself in the victims shoes, not just during being raped, but the constant dread of the prospect of it, and living the rest of your life with it when someone you’re ‘trying’ to love touches you.

It’s fucking disgusting.

Comments encouraged.

Leave a comment